Dirty Curls Cabooze Debut! (Heyyeayeayeaaaaa)

Well, folks, now we’ve played the motherfuggin’ Cabooze.  I’ve played on the same stage as Snoop Dogg.  Next stop – actually playing with Snoop Dogg.

They spelled my name wrong. And were immediately forgiven.

They spelled my name wrong. And were immediately forgiven.

Okay, that’s not the next stop, but why can’t it be a stop?  If life is a subway train, you gotta make stops along the way before you get to your destination, yeah?  (Now I have this song stuck in my head.  Click the link and you will too.) You guys, shut up. I’m a cheeseball and you love me for it. But seriously, what if they last stop is Snoop Dogg and The Cabooze is 1000 miles away from that, but I’ll eventually get to Snoop if I just stay on this train.

Oh, the italics!  I have so much to emphasize today!

But seriously, do you get my point? This is why I’m still chugging away at something when I supposedly should have been married, owned a home, and popped out a couple of tykes by now. Not to imply having a home and a family isn’t many peoples’ dreams in our culture!  I am doing comedy music in my mid-thirties for a few drinks and a chance to play on The Cabooze stage.  Because each bigger stage means bigger chances, even if you were light years away from filling the place.  And that’s my dream: making the masses laugh and living the life of a rockstar.  With only the natural drugs, please.  Okay, okay, synthetics here and there, once in a while.  But I’m not fucking paying for them!

Enough of that crap. You came here to hear about the show. I’ll be talking about my missed chance to have a family a lot here (no emphasis mine), so I won’t vomit it all out in one fell swoop.

THE SHOW WAS AWESOME.  We had a mere 25-30, maybe? people in the audience and in a place like The Cabooze, which has a capacity of about 1200 I think, that can seem like nobody.  But what I need from an audience can come from one person: captivity. If The Curls are holding the audience hostage with laughter and shock and awe, we’ve done our job. And dammit, we did our job last night. We got a nice handful of new fans, methinks. Welcome to the world of the Curls, new Curlfriends! We’re so happy you’re here.

The Bitterroot Band opened up and we noticed they played the same instruments we had that night: banjo, upright bass, and guitar.  And then the bass player, Vinnie, whipped out a fiddle!  And then the guitar player clawhammered a banjo and the banjo player strummed a guitar! Love me some multi-talented musicians! They were wonderful and warmed up the audience really nicely for us. Please check them out and go see them when they’re playing around town! (And from their Facebook page, you can see they’re doing a mini Midwest tour, so keep an eye out, Iowa, Wisconsin, and Chicago!)

The Bitterroot Band!

The Bitterroot Band!

Diet Folk was the headliner and by the time they got on stage, beers had been consumed for a couple of hours and the crowd had grown to about 100 people! There were many fans dancing and clapping and we were all having a great time. Our booker, Tony, is the banjo player (and plays guitar too) for Diet Folk and Saint Anyway and he’s amazing!  He’s a nice guy and his bands are fabulous.  We’re so lucky to be working with him!

That's Tony in the foreground.  Yes, he's playing guitar, not banjo. He's great at it!

That’s Tony in the foreground. Yes, he’s playing guitar, not banjo. He’s great at it!

Back to my original point, though, guys: ever since I realized that I am a musician, I have had little goal posts of places to play here in the Twin Cities. The 501 Club was one of them and we played there 3 times in 2010.  The 331 Club was a goal, as was the Turf Club (we still need our own show there, though, for sure), and the Cabooze was a goal.  Now, perhaps, First Ave!  Comedy Music Festival at First Ave?  LET’S DO THIS, MINNEAPOLIS!

Anyhooters, thank you Diet Folk and Bitterroot Band and The Cabooze for making a girl’s dream come true. One down, many more to go… to my destination.

Leave a Reply

